The Fayette Tribune, Oak Hill, W.Va.



Those breaking ground on the Layland Miners Memorial Saturday were, from left, Joe Carter, president of United Mine Workers Local 1473; Carol Pettinaro, representative from United States Representative Nick Rahall’s office; Ray Cook, president of the Layland Miners Memorial Committee; Delegate Dave Perry; Delegate Margaret Staggers; Kimberly Gross, regional representative from Governor Earl Ray Tomblin’s office; and former state Senator Shirley Love.