The Fayette Tribune, Oak Hill, W.Va.

October 15, 2012

Ansted, Nuttall students and teachers recognized

By Steve Keenan
Sports Editor

ANSTED — Victor Whitt was like a proud papa Tuesday.

Whitt, the principal at Ansted Middle School, supervised a special school assembly in which he and other officials recognized Ansted students and students from the former Nuttall Middle School — last year’s students in grades 5-8 — for meeting AYP (adequate yearly progress) in math and reading/language arts in the most recent WESTEST.

“You worked really hard and the teachers worked really hard,” Whitt told the students prior to handing out certificates.

Whitt said the goal was reached despite doubters to the contrary. “You teachers, you pushed them. I prodded them. You parents, you pushed them.”

He again thanked his teaching staff for the work they put into helping the students improve. “We’ve got a great bunch of teachers, a great bunch of kids.”

In praising the students and staff for their efforts, Fayette County Schools Superintendent Keith Butcher also offered a little bit of advice. “Every day you’re in your classroom, put your whole self in.”

During the ceremony, Whitt and social studies teacher DeAnna Gill introduced each student who had shown improvement on any WESTEST test and presented each with a certificate. Students who achieved mastery, above mastery or distinguished status on any exam were also honored.

“The main reason we made AYP is because we improved,” said Whitt. “We have a lot to be proud of.”

A sixth-grader, Carson Cochran, received special recognition Tuesday for achieving distinguished designation in all four areas. “That’s extremely difficult to do,” said Whitt.

Students who improved in all four areas included:

6th grade — Crislyn Comer, Keesha Moore and Ashley Wilson

7th grade — Johnathan Armstrong, Catherine Carte, Colton Carte, Travis Carte, Tyler Carte, Samuel Dickerson, Tiffany Gilotte, Marria Holcomb, Noah Jenkins, Will Jones, Kaylyn Lambert, Levi Lesher, Ana Lindsay, Brandon Lively, Sarah Moore, Rosa Palazzo, Kylee Rose, Heather Smith, Emily Withrow and Matt Workman

8th grade — Sarah Beebe, Abbie Bostic, James Carte, Rebekka Carte, Dakota Cole, Randy Cool, Fairan Gill, Raven Harmon, Ryan Hurley, Skyler Lego, Brendan Lindsay, Erik Lindsay, Holly McClung, Devon Nickell, Makenna Nickell, Michael Perrine, Timmy Ritter, Matthew Stone Mallory Stonestreet and Jessica Williams.