The Fayette Tribune, Oak Hill, W.Va.

January 20, 2014

Jan. 25th is filing deadline

From Staff Reports

— Individuals interested in filing for office in the May primary election can do so until Saturday, Jan. 25.

As of Friday morning, three candidates had officially entered the primary in Fayette County — incumbent county commissioner Denise Eskew Scalph, incumbent county executive committeewoman Susan E. Williams, and board of education candidate Patsy Holliday.

According to County Clerk Kelvin Holliday, candidates can file through Saturday (excluding Monday’s holiday) of this week at the county courthouse. Hours Tuesday to Friday are 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Holliday said candidates must have their certificate of announcement postmarked by Saturday, Jan. 25 at the latest, or they can stop by the courthouse from 8 a.m. to noon on Jan. 25, the final day to file in person.

In addition to county commission (New Haven District), the nonpartisan board of education and the county executive committees, the nonpartisan conservation district supervisor position is up in May, as well as membership in various legislative committees.

Three seats — held by current board members James Workman (New Haven), Steve Bush (Plateau) and Pat Gray (New Haven) — are up for election in the board of education race. Leon Ivey (Plateau) and Lou Jones (Valley) won’t be on the ballot this year.

In May, one New Haven candidate must be elected. The remaining two spots can be filled by candidates from any of the three districts, with each district allowed to have no more than two members serving on the BOE at a time.

— Steve Keenan