The Fayette Tribune, Oak Hill, W.Va.

July 31, 2013

FHS Class of 1952 celebrates reunion

— The Fayetteville High School Class of 1952 celebrated its 61-year class reunion on July 2.

Organized by Thelma Whitlock Neal and Ann Wilson Moreau, the celebration was held in the Hospitality Suite at Hawks Nest State Park, with a social hour from 4 to 6 p.m. Dinner was served in the dining room at Hawks Nest Lodge, and after dinner, the fellowship continued in the Hospitality Suite.

Jennings Ervin gave a welcome speech and conducted the meeting. Before dinner, an inspirational prayer was given by Johnny Eades. A poem, “Ode to the FHS Class of ‘52,” was composed and read by Jeff Eades, a present teacher at FHS.

Friendship cards were signed and sent to classmates who did not attend the reunion.

The class members were honored with a “welcome cake,” donated by Ann Wilson Moreau.

A moment of silence was observed, and pictures of the known deceased classmates were displayed. Members “gone but not forgotten” are Dorothy Patrick Casell, Patsy Broach Johnson, Evertt Buckland, Betty Burns, Joe Eskridge, John Koontz, Faith Marshall Edens, Mary Ann Blake Woodrum, Harold Conley, Phyllis Alexander Lackey, Barbara Michael Schoeling, Mary Lee Eskew Hansen, Meala Blevens, Uldene Wheeler, Shirley Zorio Miller, James Underwood, Carol Shieler Schoolcraft, Jimmy Armstrong, Kenneth Sexton, Gary Wheeler and Joan Brooks Canterbury.

Attending members of the FHS Class of 1952 reunion were Jennings and Joan Mize Ervin of Indianapolis, Ind.; Cora Berry Morrison of Oak Hill; Johnny Eades of Ansted; James DD Haskell of Franklin, Ohio; Jean Shawver Crandall of Boone, N.C.; Richard Wells of Columbus, Ohio; Ann Wilson Moreau of West Palm Beach, Fla.; Faye Crews Lloyd of Huntington; and Buddy Learmonth and Thelma Whitlock Neal, both of Fayetteville.

Guests attending the reunion were Joe Moreau of West Palm Beach, Fla.; Jean Eades of Ansted; Dick Crandall of Boone, N.C.; Betty Haskell of Franklin, Ohio; Charles Lloyd of Huntington and Judy Learmonth of Fayetteville.

The decision to meet again on July 2, 2014 was left open.