The Fayette Tribune, Oak Hill, W.Va.

March 24, 2013

Thurmond plans to resurface sidewalks, explore town’s history

From staff reports

— The Town of Thurmond has been planning on resurfacing the sidewalk along the railroad tracks in front of the old post office for several years.

After several months of brainstorming and research, town officials have decided to also create an educational walk by highlighting significant dates and events from the town’s past on engraved 8” x 8” bricks. For example: 1873: W. D. Thurmond acquired 73 acres on the banks of New River; 1903: Thurmond is incorporated; 1908: Major flood washes away the Thurmond bridge; 1930: Dunglen Hotel is burned down; 1968: First commercial whitewater rafting trip in West Virginia is taken; and so on.

The remaining surface of the sidewalk will be completed with a combination of blank and engraved bricks.

The town needs support from the public to make the project a success. Now is your chance to help support Thurmond with a one-time donation that will last a lifetime. Buy a brick or several bricks for yourself, family, in memory of a loved one, in honor of a family member, or in thanksgiving of a loved one. Each sponsored brick will be a visible part of the sidewalk in front of the Thurmond Post Office. The development mission for the sidewalk is to tie the past history to the present and into the future.  

The project will begin in July.

To purchase bricks, write: Town of Thurmond, 174 Main Street, Thurmond, WV 25936; or visit www.ThurmondWV.org or ThurmondWV on Facebook.