The Fayette Tribune, Oak Hill, W.Va.

June 24, 2013

Students, faculty recognized at New River CTC-Beckley

— Students and faculty from the Beckley Campus of New River Community and Technical College were recognized at the 2nd annual Beckley Campus Student and Faculty Recognition Banquet and Ceremony in April.

The program opened with a welcome from Dr. Harry R. Faulk, executive vice president and chief academic officer. Dr. Willis Nordlund then presented a message from the faculty. The student awards recipients were introduced by Beckley Campus Dean Dr. Carolyn Sizemore and Karen Carter-Harvey, instructor of Psychology and Student Government Association advisor.

Awards for outstanding academic student in individual disciplines went to Carrie Vroman of Crab Orchard, Business; Joshua Baker of Beckley, Board of Governors; Caleb Roach of Meadow Bridge, Criminal Justice and Legal Assisting; Barbara Mills of Bluefield, Education; Christina Bair of Shady Spring, Medical Assisting; Laura Pachuta of Beckley, Practical Nursing; Amanda Keenan of Fayetteville, General Education; Daniel Laverty of Glen Daniel, Allied Health; and Melody Roberts of Arnett, Social Services. Chance Cook of Daniels was recognized as the outstanding first year student in General Education.

Recognized for their service to the college and the community were Michael Osborne of Arnett, Board of Governors; Tammy Kidd of Beckley, Criminal Justice and Legal Assisting; Rosetta Jackson of Beckley, Education; Michael Dick of White Oak, Allied Health; and Myrissa Grose of Fayetteville, Social Services.

Faculty awards were presented by Tracy Evans, director of enrollment services.

Dr. Michael Curry and Karen Carter-Harvey were honored as Favorite Faculty. Vondie Cook and William Wood were Favorite Adjunct Faculty. Dr. Shirley Davis was selected Favorite Online Instructor. Dr. Willis Nordlund and Joycie Wawiye were named Most Inspirational Faculty, and William Bradberry was recognized for Superior Dedication in Advising.

The program concluded with remarks from Dr. Allen Withers, vice president of student services.