The Fayette Tribune, Oak Hill, W.Va.

March 19, 2014

Early voting locations approved

By Chris Boyd
The Register-Herald

FAYETTEVILLE — An order approving primary election early voting locations for Fayette County was signed Friday morning by the Fayette County Commission in its regular meeting.

 In accordance with state law, Danese Elementary School, Montgomery Town Hall and Fayette County Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Building were designated as the county’s Community Voting Locations for early voting from April 30 to May 10, including all Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., effective with the May 13 primary election.

 Fayette County Commissioner Matthew Wender said that having these extra locations at different ends of the county makes it more convenient for early voters, which increases voter turnout.

“When the Legislature first passed early voting, it was required that each county seat be the location for early voting. The issue then, to me, became one of fairness. In other words, if you live in Mount Hope or if you live in Meadow Bridge, your chances of having voted in early voting were much less than they would be if you lived in Fayetteville.

 “The Legislature did authorize up to three early voting sites including the county’s courthouse,” Wender added. “I think we are the only county that does all three locations, and it is an expense but it’s coming along. We need to get accustomed to the fact that you can go to Montgomery City Hall or the Danese Community Center and early vote.”

 For more information about early voting, contact the county clerk’s office or visit

— E-mail: