The Fayette Tribune, Oak Hill, W.Va.

May 6, 2013

Tech students honored at STEM banquet

— West Virginia University Institute of Technology’s Leonard C. Nelson College of Engineering and Sciences recognized 60 current students at the annual STEM Awards Banquet on April 18. Honorees were selected by their academic department based on academic accomplishments.

“This event recognizes the achievements of our college’s best and brightest students, and celebrates their outstanding accomplishments,” explained Dr. Zeljko “Z” Torbica, dean of the Leonard C. Nelson College of Engineering and Sciences.

“I am extremely proud of each and every one of these students.”

2013 WVU Tech STEM Award recipients

Biology — Christopher Evans, Verdunville; Taylor Miltenberger, Ridgeley; Amanda Simpson, Charleston

Chemical Engineering — James Ingles, Fayetteville; Andrew Lester, Cool Ridge; Shae Shamblen, Kenna

Chemistry — Andrew Schwartz, Nitro

Civil Engineering — Haylie Ballard, Charleston; Phillip Cook, Bradley; Rachel Facemire, Elkview; Jacob Harper, Mount Nebo; Stephen Casey Lester, South Charleston; David Ian Webster, St. Albans; Kyle Diem (*Mathematics), Caldwell; Megan Chestnut, Belle

Computer Engineering — Brandon Cole, Lizemore; Shella Kelley, Midway; Dustin Sauriol, Moundsville; Kiarash Tirandazi, Charleston; Patrick Kinser (*Computer Science), Elkview

Computer Science — Matthew Dunlap, Charleston; Scott Jacovidis, Charleston; Joshua Keiffer, Oak Hill; Joseph Stephenson (*Computer Engineering), Charleston

Electrical Engineering — Matthew Cook, Ranger; Joseph Ferguson, Montgomery; Eric Fleshman, Rupert; Dylan Harrison, Liberty; Nathan Settle, Hurricane; Felipe Sozinho, Belo Horizonte, Brazil; Amber Toney, Scarbro

Electronic Engineering Technology — Jacob Crist, Victor; Adam Doss, Beckley; David Rutherford, Ceredo

Engineering Technology — Hannah Clutter, Charleston; Caleb Reed, Sissonville; Nathan Plymale, Oak Hill; Jordan Beard, Pond Gap; Amy Young, St. Albans; Joshua Gunnoe, Cool Ridge

Information Systems — Ashley Westfall, Ripley; Lawrence Allphin, Martinsburg; Stephen Humphrey, Smithers

Mathematics — William Alderman, Looneyville; Lauren Caldwell, Charleston; Casey Orndorff, High View

Mechanical Engineering — Jacob Bowen, Barboursville; Jordan Cox, Summersville; Branden Frazier, Smithers; Darrell Chadd Gartin, Whitman; Kevin Goff, Charleston; Wesley Gosselink, Charleston; Cory Igo, Clendenin; Andrew Lytton, Beckley; Wyatt McClead, Mineral Wells; Michael Powell, Parkersburg; Juan Suarez, Buenos Aires, Argentina; Paul Shaw, Parkersburg; Clara Shively, Huntington

*Indicates double-major