The Fayette Tribune, Oak Hill, W.Va.


June 10, 2013

Warwick to join N-S Hall of Fame


Hoppy Shores

Long before Shores was known throughout the Kanawha Valley for his career in insurance and in politics as a county commissioner, he was revered throughout the state of West Virginia as one of the top high school football players of his generation.

Shores began his football career at Woodrow Wilson Junior High School in Charleston, where he showed flashes of greatness under Coach Toby Chandler. He was selected All-City in his eighth- and ninth-grade years, while being selected as captain of the All-City team in his freshman season.

Moving on to Stonewall Jackson High School in 1947 under Coach Russ Parsons, he made an immediate impact. As a sophomore, he alternated at running back as the Generals shared the state championship with Beckley.

All of his hard work came to fruition in his senior season, when he was named the Kennedy Award winner in 1949, symbolic of West Virginia’s high school football player of the year. Harry H. Kennedy, whom the Kennedy Award is named for, took Shores and Parsons to New York City for the Heisman Trophy award ceremony, where he established the Kennedy Award for the State of West Virginia. The Kennedy Award trophy was commissioned by Mr. Kennedy, as a local artist used Shores as the model football player in the award.  

Following graduation from Stonewall Jackson, Shores was nominated to participate in the North-South Football Classic in the summer of 1950. The North defeated the South 12-9. It was the last football game he ever played.

Shores went to West Virginia University and was a three-year letterman in track and cross country. In track, he set a WVU and Southern Conference record in the 440-yard dash (400 meters), while also helping the Mountaineers win the 1953 Southern Conference cross country championship.

“It is indeed an honor to be named to the North-South Football Game Hall of Fame some 64 years later,” Hoppy said.


The South team will be coached by Midland Trail’s Joe Dean, with assistance from Randy Halsey, Jim Martin and Lewis McClung.

Fayette County players on the South squad include Midland Trail’s Jake Grimmett and Ethan Barker, Oak Hill’s Brandon Williams and Valley’s Slayton Beard.

St. Marys’ Jodi Mote will be head coach of the North.

Follow North-South news on Twitter ---, or on Facebook ---


Text Only