The Fayette Tribune, Oak Hill, W.Va.


March 19, 2014

All-star tournament a success in Mt. Hope

MOUNT HOPE — The gymnasium at the Mount Hope Community Center was a busy place last week.

The first Mount Hope Youth All-Star Invitational was staged on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

In addition to the host Mount Hope Youth Basketball League, which is sponsored by the Mount Hope United Methodist Church, other participants included Meadow Bridge, the Ben Argento Basketball League in Fayetteville, the Joe Aiello Memorial Basketball League in Oak Hill and the John A. Flournoy Youth Basketball League in Hico.

“We were pleased to have the opportunity to host an all-star tournament in Mt. Hope,” said Randy Maynor, who supervises the MHYBL with his wife, Debbie. “Our goal to provide a fun, family-oriented, competitive environment was successful in our opinion.

“All of the teams played hard and respected the outcome of the games with sportsmanlike attitudes. I don’t think we could have asked for anything more. We appreciate all of the coaches, players, cheerleaders, parents and sponsors who made this a successful tournament. We look forward to next year.”

Following are results:

All-Star Invitational

Grades 1-2

Championship game

Mt. Hope 28


Mt. Hope — Elijah Redfern 9, Braydon Hawthorne 6, Noah McClung 6, Ian Maynor 2, Zyon Hawthorne 2, Zayne Anderson 2, Ty Austin 1

JAMBL — Caleb Baxter 6, Malachi Lewis 4, Dalton Williams 2

Consolation game


Ben Argento 4

JAFYBL — Addison Isaacs 3, Rumor Barnhouse 1, Jacob Ewing 1

Ben Argento — Ashton Bess 3, Bradley Fink 1

First round



JAMYBL — Caleb Baxter 6, Nikolas England 6, Ja’Liyk Evans 6, Ethan Williams 6, Levi Kiszka 4, Malachi Lewis 4, Dalton Williams 4


Mt. Hope 36

Fayetteville (Ben Argento) 2

MH — Noah McClung 10, Elijah Redfern 8, Tyler Linksweiler 4, Braydon Hawthorne 4, Ian Maynor 4, Zayne Anderson 4, Kayden Lyons 2

BA —  Cole Nelson 2

Grades 3-4

Championship game

Mt. Hope 25


Mt. Hope — Cade Maynor 11, Ryan Adkins 6, Joshua Farnsworth 4, Caleb Austin 4, Leonard Farrow 1, Dylan Osborne 1

JAFYBL — Sammy Crist 2, Caden Sears 2, Ayden Simms 2, River Barnhouse 1

Consolation game


Meadow Bridge 19

JAMBL — Ethan Thomas 14, Zane Wolfe 7, Gavin Rust 2

Meadow Bridge — Chandler Mullins 8, Conner Mullins 5, Colson Ford 4, Justin Shuck 2

Text Only