Scholarship committee

The FARSE scholarship committee includes, from left, chair Doug Kincaid, June Bell and Freda Akers.

The Fayette Association of Retired School Employees (FARSE) met at the Quality Inn New River Gorge Whitewater Bar and Grill conference room in Fayetteville on March 23.

President Joel Davis called the meeting to order, and Doug Kincaid led attendees in the Pledge of Allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

For the devotion, Darlene Allen told of a soldier who had no Bible, but used a deck of cards. She read “Deck of Cards” where 52 playing cards represent a lesson of faith and scripture. This can be found at the following site:

Secretary Angelita Berry read the Sept. 22 and Nov. 17 minutes; they were approved as read.

In the absence of Bruce and Norma Williams, a scholarship selection committee was formed. Chair Doug Kincaid, Freda Akers, and June Bell will utilize the submitted applicant essays to determine the recipient of this year’s $500 scholarship.

FARSE will host a reception for 23 Fayette County school employees who are retiring this year. The date is to be determined.

Among committee reports was David Perry who reported on educational legislation including school safety, forums around West Virginia and the upcoming special session. Marsha Cook reported on volunteer hours (community service) and publicity in The Fayette Tribune followed by Martha Aliff who gave the treasurer’s report and membership report at 145.

Members present were Freda Akers, Martha Aliff, Darlene Allen, Sylvia Allen, Yvonne Arthur, June Bell, Angelita Berry, Marsha Cook, Joel Davis, Joe Dean, Doug Kincaid, David Perry and Carol Sullivan.

The next meeting will be held May 18 at 10:30 a.m. at Quality Inn New River Gorge in Fayetteville. Any retired public school employee or spouse of a retired public school employee may join FARSE by calling Treasurer Martha Aliff at 304-573-1224.

This Week's Circulars