Representatives from the Secretary of State’s office traveled to Fayette County Monday to recognize Midland Trail High School and Valley High School as Jennings Randolph Award winners for the 2018-19 school year.

The Jennings Randolph Award is presented to schools with 100 percent of their eligible students registered to vote.

All five of Fayette County’s high schools have earned the award for the 2018-19 school year. Presentations to Fayetteville, Oak Hill and Meadow Bridge High School occurred earlier this month.

“I want to recognize the hard work of Fayette County Clerk Kelvin Holliday on this remarkable achievement,” Warner said. “All five of Fayette County’s high schools are Jennings Randolph schools. That is something the entire county can be proud of.”

“The Jennings Randolph Award is a great way to recognize schools for all their efforts leading to the civic engagement of our young people,” Warner said. “Getting eligible voters of all ages involved and registered so they can take part in the election process is very important.”

The late U.S. Senator Jennings Randolph, born and raised in Harrison County, is celebrated as the father of the 26th Amendment, which reduced the voting age from 21 to 18. Although the amendment was introduced 11 times beginning in 1942, it didn’t pass until 1971.

The Jennings Randolph Award was a legislative initiative first awarded to high schools during the 1993-94 school year under then West Virginia Secretary of State Ken Hechler. The 2018-19 school year marks the award’s 25th anniversary of the award.

This Week's Circulars