There will be a Hunter Education Course held in Fayette County, at the Armory in Glen Jean, on Oct. 28-29, from 1 to 6 p.m. This is a 10-hour course and students must attend all sessions to be certified.

In an attempt to lower the hunting incident rate, legislation was passed during the 1994 session that requires that any person born on or after Jan. 1, 1975, to present proof of certification of an approved Hunter Education course to the license agent each and every time a hunting license is purchased.

The course is open to the public and is free of charge. Anyone who completes the course will receive a certification card which is recognized in all 50 states, the Canadian Provinces and the country of Mexico. Students under the age of 12 years old must be accompanied by a parent or responsible adult.

Anyone under the age of 10 years old will not be issued a permanent certification card. This year, 8- and 9-year-olds will be admitted to the Hunter Education class and will take the entire class, except for the written test, and will receive a temporary certification card, which will be valid for three years from class date. Sometime before the expiration date, they will be required to take the entire class again to receive a permanent certification card.

Persons traveling to the western states to hunt need to plan far enough ahead to take the course because class space is limited and you may not be able to take the course when you want it. Students need to bring their social security number to class with them.

Subjects covered during the course are: hunter responsibility, hunting ethics, hunter/landowner relations, safe firearms handling, preventing negligent shootings, survival, first aid, handgun hunting, archery hunting, black powder hunting, special hunting concerns and current West Virginia hunting laws.

Call 304-256-6945 Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. to register for the course. Students must register for the course as class space is limited in most courses. Instructors for the course will be certified volunteer instructors and West Virginia Conservation Officers.

The course is sponsored by the W.Va. DNR Law Enforcement Section.

Trending Video

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you